District Departments » World Language » World Language

World Language

Supervisor K-12 World Language

Annamaria Bellino
bellino@cranfordschools.org

(908) 709-3496

 

 

 

 

World LanguagesWorld Languages

Our students live in a multi-lingual society where language plays a dominant role not only in the world market place, but also at the negotiating table for peace. The ability to communicate effectively in more than one language and an understanding of other languages and cultures are vital to the success of our students.

In the Cranford Public Schools World Languages program, students are supported in their second language learning since elementary school where they begin to understand the similarities and fundamental differences between the English and Spanish accent, pronunciation and language.

By grade six, students select a full-time program where they may continue in their Spanish study or elect to pursue French, German, Japanese or Latin. Throughout their World Language study in middle school, students increasingly reach higher levels of communicative proficiency to prepare for continued study in the Cranford High School world language program.

At the high school, beginner through advanced levels of instruction are offered in five languages: French, German, Japanese, Latin and Spanish. Students are encouraged to continue in their language study throughout their high school career and are also invited to begin studying a second world language to further develop their understanding of the linguistic and cultural differences present within different countries in our ever-shrinking world.

 

World Languages Department staff:

Elementary (grades 1-5):

Brookside Place School Spanish:

Robin Bramwell: bramwell@cranfordschools.org

Bloomingdale Avenue School Spanish / Orange Avenue School Spanish:

Ms. Katherine Ferrero: ferrero@cranfordschools.org

Walnut Avenue School Spanish/ Livingston Avenue School Spanish:

Ms. Joann Palumbo: palumbo@cranfordschools.org

Brookside Place School Spanish/ Hillside Avenue School Spanish:

Ms. Amy Imhof: imhof@cranfordschools.org

 

 

Middle school:

Hillside Avenue School:

Hillside Avenue School French grades 6,7,8:

Ms. Adrienne Bishop bishopad@cranfordschools.org

Hillside Avenue School German grades 6,7,8:

Mr. Brian Elliott: elliott@cranfordschools.org

Hillside Avenue School Japanese grades 6,7,8:

Ms. Catherine Fisco: fiscocat@cranfordschools.org

 Hillside Avenue School Latin grades 6,7,8:

Ms. Kristen Bryfogle: bryfogle@cranfordschools.org

Hillside Avenue School Spanish grades 6,7:

Mr. Juan Tejeda: tejeda@cranfordschools.org

Hillside Avenue School Spanish grades 7,8:

Ms. Mary Corro: corro@cranfordschools.org

 

Orange Avenue School:

Orange Avenue School French grades 6,7,8:

Ms. Adrienne Bishop bishopad@cranfordschools.org

Orange Avenue School German grades 6,7,8:

Mr. Brian Elliott: elliott@cranfordschools.org

Orange Avenue School Japanese grades 6,7,8:

Ms. Catherine Fisco: fiscocat@cranfordschools.org

Orange Avenue School Latin grades 6,7,8:

Ms. Kristen Bryfogle: bryfogle@cranfordschools.org

Orange Avenue School Spanish grade 6:

Ms. Magaly Rodriguez: rodriguez@cranfordschools.org

Orange Avenue School Spanish grade 7:

Ms. Linda McConoughey (leave replacement): mcconoughey@cranfordschools.org (through April 30)

Ms. Noemi Vazquez: vazquez@cranfordschools.org (May 1-end of school year)

Orange Avenue School Spanish grade 8:

Ms. Maria Dugan: duganmar@cranfordschools.org

 

Cranford High School:

 French:

Mr. Sean Whipple: whipple@cranfordschools.org

 German:

Ms. Denice Schmidt: Schmidt@cranfordschools.org

Japanese:

Ms. Kristin Wingate: wingate@cranfordschools.org

Ms. Nao Yokoyama (J-LEAP Assistant Teacher)

 Latin:

Ms. Aileen McGuire: mcguirea@cranfordschools.org

Spanish:

Ms. Mary Burton: burton@cranfordschools.org

Ms. Christina Corlett: corlett@cranfordschools.org

Ms. Renee Faller: faller@cranfordschools.org

Ms. Shannon Lorenzo: lorenzo@cranfordschools.org

Ms. Yasmin Torres: torres@cranfordschools.org

 

 

 

 

Grade 5 World Language Selection Process:

BPS Middle School Language selection form

HAS Middle School Language selection form

LAS Middle School Language selection form

OAS Middle School Language selection form